untitled

March 28, 2012

politics your baying is unmistakable

politics the right honourable gentleman

politics my right honourable friends

politics the leader of the opposition must be heard

politics wrapped in a bedsheet

politics our brave soldiers

politics hard working families

politics tired and emotional

politics intensely relaxed

politics there is no money left

politics I’m hanging on every word

 

in cubicle

with fat stub of pencil in fist

x marks the spot

in parody of signature

ready

for the next five years

 

as the surgeon’s stiletto

gouges manifestos

in darting search

for incidences of the word “fair”

 

on parade

the four letter word

becomes meaningless

 

politics your minutiae hold me like a wayward octopus on my face

politics I know how long it takes ed miliband to solve a rubiks cube

politics some of my best friends are local councillors

politics you’re actively tipping me towards the poverty line

politics you owe me a new notebook

politics I’ve seen michael gove falling over and still I want more

politics I’ve seen the strangers bar and the garden girls

politics you’re weighing down my bookshelves

politics some of my worst enemies are local councillors

politics you’ve reduced our poet laurate to chanting your name

 

I’m with you in wapping

bursting picket lines with page 3 girls poised atop vintage tanks

I’m with you in Whitehall

scuttling past statues to carve out policy on chesterfield

I’m with you in Millbank

sliding doors like glass eyelids reveal machinations beneath

I’m with you in south shields

in hendon

in burnley

in constituency office pressing palms with promises

I’m with you in darkened rooms

upon ancient desks

overlooked by the art collection

and the faces of the past

I’m with you in commons

mace like an unsheathed sword between us on the mattress

 

politics get on your bike

politics pebbledashed in ermine

politics john prescott helping you move house and finding your kink box

politics from THE REAL 99%

politics no, simon, no!

politics the brussels gravy train

politics up yours, delors

politics kill an argie and win a metro

politics piers morgan

politics dancing on ice

politics if not now, when?

politics IPSO-MORI

politics it was the sun wot won it

politics turn out the lights

politics gotcha

politics show us you care

politics clutching a banana

politics president tony blair

politics people’s princess

politics there is no alternative

politics

you bastard

I’m through

*     *      *      *      *

I’ve always been a bit unsure about Ginsberg. Always thought he was a bit lazy.  I guess it takes one to know one. But on Janurary 1st this year I went to a group reading of Howl. I think he works a lot better when read out. Although I’ve listened to him reading Howl on spotify and am not quite sure. But then it’s often a bit of a disappointment listening to poets reading their own poems. Anyway, I thought I’d give it a go regardless. So this is my own slightly lazy attempt to parody Ginsberg, and there only was going to be one subject I’d approach. I quite like the result, but in some ways, this is the sort of thing you could carry on forever.

Leave a Reply

